Reference numberCMB/36
TitleWar Committee of the Royal Society
DateNovember 1914 to May 1918
DescriptionCommittee appointed by the Royal Society to administer the various subject-specific Sub-Committees, particularly Chemistry, Physics and Engineering. Discharged in 1915 when the Royal Society Council took on this administrative role, and subsequently reappointed and reorganised 6 April 1916

Members of War Executive in October 1917 listed on inside front comer; Sir J J Thomson, President RS; Sir A B Kempe, Treaurer RS; Profesor Schuster, Secretary RS; W B Hardy, Secretary RS; Professor W Herdman, Foreigh Secretary RS; Professor J G Adami, FRS; Sir Dugald Clerk, FRS; Dr H J H Fenton, FRS; Professor P F Frankland, FRs; Professor E H Starling, FRS; Sir Richard Threlfall, FRS
Extent1 volume
FormatTypescript copy
Access statusOpen
Fellows associated with this archive
NA8188Crookes; Sir; William (1832 - 1919); chemist1832 - 1919
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView