Reference numberNLB/28/508
Alternative reference numberNLB/28 p274
TitleCopy letter from Robert William Frederick Harrison, to Miss Brackenbury
Date21 March 1904
DescriptionThe Royal Society have received a letter from Sir George Reid stating that he intends to send the Rayleigh portrait to the New Gallery on their sending in day, 5 April. The Society will be closed for Easter and Harrison asks that Brackenbury arrange with Reid to send in the picture and to enquire what is to be done about the frame currently resting at the Society.

A photogravure of the portrait has been proposed for subscribers, and Harrison is asking the Swan Company to provide an estimate, for which they will need access to the picture, and if they carry out the work they will need to photograph the portrait. He asks that Brackenbury inform him if she is willing to allow access via her studio and possibly photograph it before it is sent away. Harrison is also putting the Swan Company in direct communication with Brackenbury.
Physical descriptionTypescript
Access statusOpen
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView