Reference numberNLB/53/582
Alternative reference numberNLB/53 p384
TitleCopy letter from [Dr.] Arthur Schuster, Secretary of the Royal Society and FRS; to The Deputy Master of the Mint
Date02 November 1916
DescriptionLetter ordering the striking of the Royal Society's medals. Recipients listed as:

Copley - Sir James Dewar, FRS
Royal - Dr. John Scott Haldane, FRS and Professor Hector Munro MacDonald, FRS
Davy - Professor Henri Louis le Chatelier, For.Mem.RS
Darwin - Professor Yves Delage
Rumford - Professor William Henry Bragg, FRS
Sylvester - M. Jean Gaston Darboux
Hughes - Professor Elihu Thomson
Access statusOpen
Fellows associated with this archive
NA5870Dewar; Sir; James (1842 - 1923)1842 - 1923
NA2292Haldane; John Scott (1860 - 1936)1860 - 1936
NA1351Macdonald; Hector Munro (1865 - 1935)1865 - 1935
NA421Chatelier; Henry Louis Le (1850 - 1936)1850 - 1936
NA8140Bragg; Sir; William Henry (1862 - 1942); physicist1862 - 1942
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView