Reference numberNLB/59/701
Alternative reference numberNLB/50 p387
TitleCopy letter from William Bate Hardy, Secretary of the Royal Society; to the Deputy Master of the Mint
Date4 November 1920
DescriptionInforms the Deputy that the Council of the Society have recommended Horace [Tabberer] Brown for the Copley Medal; the Lord Rayleigh for the Rumford Medal; William Bateson and Godfrey Harold Hardy for the Royal Medal; Charles [Thomas] Heycock for the Davy Medal; Rowland [Harry] Biffen for the Darwin Medal; and Owen [Willans] Richardson for the Hughes Medal. Notes that they will be required for presentation on November 30th.
Access statusOpen
Fellows associated with this archive
NA8234Hardy; Sir; William Bate (1864 - 1934); biologist and food scientist1864 - 1934
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView