Reference numberNLB/64/318
Alternative reference numberNLB/64 p187
TitleCopy letter from Francis Alexander Towle, Assistant Secretary of the Royal Society; to Robert Boyle Esquire; Eagle's Eyrie, Southbourne, Bournemouth
Date13 March 1923
DescriptionProvides details of the terms of four Presidents of the Royal Society: Lord Kelvin, Lord Lister, Lord Rayleigh and William Crookes. Notes that Michael Faraday was never President, though Presidency was offered to him in 1858.
Access statusOpen
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView