Reference numberRR/9/420
TitleSecond letter from William Crawford Williamson, on his paper 'On the organisation of the fossil plants of the coal-measures. Heterangium Tilioeoides (Will.) and Kaloxylon Hookeri' to the Secretary of the Royal Society
Date5 April 1887
DescriptionHe has been pondering the subject of his correspondence with the Secretary since his last letter. He is 'extremely anxious to avoid coming into any collision with the Council of the Royal Society'. He is the sole expert on the subject and he is the only person who can judge what is new or important'. He is willing to contribute his own money to the printing of the figures in his paper to ensure that they are also published.

Subject: Botany

[Published in Proceedings of the Royal Society, 1887].
Physical descriptionLetter on paper
Digital imagesView item on Science in the Making
Access statusOpen
Related materialDOI: 10.1098/rspl.1887.0005
Related records in the catalogueRR/9/417
Fellows associated with this archive
NA3795Williamson; William Crawford (1816 - 1895)1816 - 1895
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView