Reference numberCMB/283
TitleAstronomical Committee
Date26 January 1839 - 16 November 1849
DescriptionPasted onto inside of front cover, printed paper cutting;
' 4. Committee of Astronomy
Mr Airy. Sir Thomas Brisbane, Mr G Fisher, Me Galloway, Sir John F W Herschel, Mr Lubbock, Rev. W Pearson, Rev. R Sheepshanks, Captain Smyth, R.N., Mr Stratford.
Crossed out; Mr Baily, Mr Ivory. Lord Oxmantown crossed out and replaced with Earl of RosseMr Rigaud crossed out and replaced with Sir John C Rtoss
Mr Dollond, Dean of Ely, added. '

First page lists the follwoing;

'At a meeting of the Astronomical Committee of the Royal society held [no date given]
Present; Sir John Herschel in the Chair; Mr Stratford; Mr Fisher

Resolved that Mr Baily be elected President and Mr Lubbock Secretary to the Committee.

J F W Herschel '
Extent1 volume
Access statusOpen
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView