Reference numberMM/10/165
TitleMinutes of the Microscope Committee
DescriptionMinutes date from 17 November 1842 and 1 June 1843.

They relate to the offer of £100 for the best microscope delivered to the Royal Society's Apartment by the 1 May 1843. The minutes of the 1 June relate that the prize was awarded to Mr Powell.

Members of the Committee: Rev Baden Powell, P M Roget, Sir Charles Wheatstone, JJ Lister, Miller, JB Reade, RH Solly, Todd
Extent3 sides
Access statusOpen
Related records in the catalogueMC/3/283
Fellows associated with this archive
NA6616Roget; Peter Mark (1779 - 1869); physician and philologist1779 - 1869
NA7559Wheatstone; Sir; Charles (1802 - 1875); physicist1802 - 1875
NA7537Lister; Joseph Jackson (1786 - 1869)1786 - 1869
NA2965Reade; Joseph Bancroft (1801 - 1870)1801 - 1870
NA3034Solly; Richard Horsman (? 1774 - 1858)? 1774 - 1858
NA7567Todd; Robert Bentley (1809 - 1860)1809 - 1860
Add to My Items

    Collection highlights

    Browse the records of some of our collections, which cover all branches of science and date from the 12th century onwards. These include the published works of Fellows of the Royal Society, personal papers of eminent scientists, letters and manuscripts sent to the Society or presented at meetings, and administrative records documenting the Society's activities since our foundation in 1660.

    The Royal Society

    The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of
    the world's most eminent scientists and is the
    oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
    Registered charity number 207043

    Website design ©CalmView


    + 44 207 451 2500
    (Lines open Mon-Fri, 9:00-17:00. Excludes bank holidays)

    6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AG

    Email Us →


    Subscribe to our newsletters to be updated with the
    latest news on innovation, events, articles and reports.

    Subscribe →

    © CalmView